- Credibly Accused Clergy
- Canonical Reviews
The Archdiocese of Detroit encourages individuals to report clergy sexual abuse of minors and others directly to law enforcement – no matter when the abuse occurred.
Individuals may also contact the Archdiocese of Detroit. We place no deadlines or time limits on those who wish to come forward for help; be it five, 15, or 50 years later, our diocese accepts and responds to all reports.
The Archdiocese of Detroit reports every complaint it receives, regardless of its source or the date of the alleged activity, to civil authorities. No complaints are held back, pre-screened or disregarded. This is done in accordance with voluntary agreements signed in the spring of 2002 by the archdiocese and prosecutors from all six counties within its boundaries. As a result of the agreements, the archdiocese shared case files of priests accused of sexual misconduct in previous years and committed to turning over all complaints in the future.
WHEN to report
The following may be indicators that someone is being abused or neglected:
Children: Sudden changes in behavior or school performance; medical conditions go untreated; lacks adult supervision; overly compliant, passive, or withdrawn behavior; does not want to go home; dehydration or malnutrition.
Adults: Sudden changes in physical behavioral or financial status of elderly or someone with a developmental disability; left in front of a TV all day; dehydration or malnutrition.
HOW to report
If you suspect someone is in immediate danger, call 911
Individuals who suspect clergy sexual abuse of children or vulnerable adults are encouraged to contact the Michigan Attorney General’s Office by calling its toll-free reporting hotline at (844) 324-3374 (Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.) or by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org. Individuals also may contact their local police department.
Mandated reporters in Michigan must make an immediate verbal report to the CPS Centralized Intake for Abuse & Neglect at (855) 444-3911, followed by a written report within 72 hours. Reports also can be made online. (See below for more information on mandated reporters.)
Archdiocese of Detroit
To contact the Archdiocese of Detroit's Victim Assistance Coordinator, Marge Huggard, LMSW, please call (866) 343-8055 or email email@example.com. Ms. Huggard is a licensed social worker who works independently from the archdiocese to receive and respond to all complaints. All calls and messages regarding complaints of sexual abuse will be returned in a timely manner. Callers will be asked to provide their name and telephone number.
This toll-free number has been established as part of an effort by the archdiocese to protect children, young people and other vulnerable people in our schools, parishes and ministries. This line is for reporting suspected sexual misconduct or child abuse within archdiocesan institutions and ministries only.
More information about the reporting process from Detroit Catholic: For archdiocese’s victim assistance coordinator, helping survivors is a ministry of compassion
Reporting a bishop
To report complaints of misconduct involving a bishop, please contact the Holy See’s embassy in the United States – the Apostolic Nunciature – by phone: (202) 333-7121; by email: firstname.lastname@example.org; or by surface mail: 3339 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, D. C. 20008.
WHO should report
Anyone who suspects abuse – of any kind – should immediately make a report with local law enforcement.
The Michigan Child Protection Law, 1975 PA 238, MCL 722.621 et. seq., requires the reporting of child abuse and neglect by certain persons (called mandated reporters) and permits the reporting of child abuse and neglect by all persons. The Child Protection Law includes the legal requirements for reporting, investigating and responding to child abuse and neglect.
Mandated reporters are an essential part of the child protection system because they have an enhanced capacity, through their expertise and direct contact with children, to identify suspected child abuse and neglect. For more information, including to view the list of mandated reporters in the State of Michigan, please click here.
For more information, see the Mandated Reporter's Resource Guide and/or download the DHS-3200 Report of Suspected or Actual Child Abuse or Neglect Form.